Back to search results

Affinity Water Limited

affinitywater.co.uk 3.8

Explore carbon emissions data for Affinity Water Limited. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Affinity Water Limited, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Claim this company

Emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

202,031 tCO2e (Market Based) (Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by Affinity Water Limited
151,869 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
50,162 tCO₂e

Affinity Water Limited reported 75% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 25% for the categories it did not disclose.

Scope 1

tCO2e

4,995

Scope 2 (Market Based)

tCO2e

38,441

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

158,595

Checked against page 83 of the source report on 16 Sep 2026

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Affinity Water Limited's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factor Total, all scopes including all Scope 3
0.581 kgCO2e / £

Supplier specific emission factors (kgCO2e / £)

Modelled
Reported
Scope 1 + 2 Direct + purchased energy
0.125
0.125
Upstream + upstream Scope 3
0.438
0.436
Total + all Scope 3
0.581
0.437

Scope 2 in these factors uses the company's market based figure.

Which figure should I use?

Comparing companies? Use Total Modelled. It is the most complete like-for-like view: any categories the company has not disclosed are filled with industry-typical estimates, so a transparent company is not unfairly penalised against one that simply has not reported.

Estimating your own supply-chain emissions from spend with this company? Use Upstream Modelled. The GHG Protocol defines purchased-goods emissions as cradle-to-gate, which means this company's own operations plus its upstream supply chain. The Total figure also includes downstream emissions, such as the lifetime use of the products this company sells, which the GHG Protocol attributes to the users of those products rather than to customers buying goods and services.

Reported counts only emissions the company has filed itself. A blank or low Reported cell does not mean those emissions do not exist, just that the company has not disclosed them. When Reported sits close to Modelled, that is a positive signal: the company has disclosed most of its salient emissions.

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Affinity Water Limited reported 151,869 tCO₂e in 2024.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 79% of emissions.
  • Reported across 8 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.
  • Scope 2 reported under the market based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, Affinity Water Limited reported total yearly emissions of 151,869 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 79% of the footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 3.8, placing it below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 75.2, meaning they share solid detail across the main emissions areas.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

4,995

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

45,053

tCO2e
REPORTED

Market based USED IN TOTAL

38,441

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

REPORTED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

50,566

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 2

Capital goods

31,245

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

15,170

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

317

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

9,874

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 6

Business travel

227

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

836

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

499

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

4,065

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

3,451

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

28,573

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

1,390

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

197

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 14

Franchises

160

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

12,025

tCO2e

7 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed and could not be modelled.

Contact Info

Address

Tamblin Way
Hatfield
Hertfordshire
Hatfield
Hertfordshire
AL10 9EZ

Country

United Kingdom

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs sector peers (emissions normalised against revenue), scaled by how transparent the reporting is. The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0), capped at 10.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Affinity Water Limited's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Companies with nothing to model are graded on how much of their industry's typical footprint the reported categories cover.

For Affinity Water Limited, the single biggest gap is Use of sold products (Scope 3 Category 11). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 14% of the company's total footprint, typically the largest source of emissions for a Infrastructure company, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories Affinity Water Limited hasn't disclosed:

  • Investments (Scope 3 Category 15), around 6% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 20% of Affinity Water Limited's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paper Read the full scoring methodology Our white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10. Download the white paper (PDF)

Affinity Water Limited carbon emissions FAQs

What are Affinity Water Limited's carbon emissions?

In its 2024 reporting year, Affinity Water Limited disclosed total emissions of 151,869 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 202,031 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share, around 79% of the total.

Does Affinity Water Limited report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2024, Affinity Water Limited's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (4,995 tCO2e), Scope 2 (38,441 tCO2e), Scope 3 across 8 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is Affinity Water Limited's emissions reporting?

Affinity Water Limited has a Mycelium transparency score of 75.2 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is Affinity Water Limited sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Affinity Water Limited has a Mycelium Score of 3.8 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Affinity Water Limited environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Affinity Water Limited disclosed 151,869 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 3.8 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.