Direct emissions
402
tCO2e
Explore carbon emissions data for Baillie Gifford & Co Limited. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.
This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Baillie Gifford & Co Limited, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.
Total yearly emissions across all scopes
37,933,510tCO2e(Market Based)
Scope 1
tCO2e
402
Scope 2 (Market Based)
tCO2e
122
Scope 3 total
tCO2e
37,932,986
Figures from page 48 of the source report
Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset
See the scope breakdownBased on reported data, retrieved with AI
According to available emissions disclosures, Baillie Gifford & Co Limited reported total yearly emissions of 37,933,510 tCO₂e in 2025. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 100% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.
The company does not have a Mycelium Score for 2025, because there is no revenue figure on file to measure its carbon intensity.
Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.
Direct emissions
402
tCO2eIndirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.
Location based
1,040
tCO2eMarket based USED IN TOTAL
122
tCO2eWider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.
Cat 1
Purchased goods & services
10,252
tCO2eCat 2
Capital goods
–
tCO2eCat 3
Fuel & energy related activities
543
tCO2eCat 4
Upstream transportation & distribution
–
tCO2eCat 5
Waste generated in operations
149
tCO2eCat 6
Business travel
5,454
tCO2eCat 7
Employee commuting
904
tCO2eCat 8
Upstream leased assets
–
tCO2eCat 9
Downstream transportation & distribution
–
tCO2eCat 10
Processing of sold products
–
tCO2eCat 11
Use of sold products
–
tCO2eCat 12
End-of-life treatment of sold products
–
tCO2eCat 13
Downstream leased assets
–
tCO2eCat 14
Franchises
–
tCO2eCat 15
Investments
37,915,684
tCO2eCells marked “–” were not disclosed, and Mycelium can't model them without a revenue figure for Baillie Gifford & Co Limited, which it doesn't have yet.
Website
bailliegifford.comCountry
United Kingdom
Jump straight into the sectors users explore most, or view all industries.
The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.
A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.
The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.
Baillie Gifford & Co Limited has disclosed the categories that carry most of its estimated footprint, so there's no single bucket dragging the transparency score down. The breakdown above shows which figures are reported and which are modelled.
In its 2025 reporting year, Baillie Gifford & Co Limited disclosed total emissions of 37,933,510 tCO2e across all scopes. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 100%.
For 2025, Baillie Gifford & Co Limited's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (402 tCO2e), Scope 2 (122 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 6 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.
Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Baillie Gifford & Co Limited does not have a Mycelium Score for 2025 yet. The emissions figures and disclosure documents on this page give the fuller picture.
Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Baillie Gifford & Co Limited disclosed 37,933,510 tCO2e for 2025. It does not have a Mycelium Score yet to compare that with similar companies in its sector.
Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.