Back to search results

Broadland District Council

broadland.gov.uk 2.1

Explore carbon emissions data for Broadland District Council. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Broadland District Council, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Claim this company

Emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

24,535 tCO2e (Market Based) (Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by Broadland District Council
395 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
24,140 tCO₂e

Broadland District Council reported 2% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 98% for the categories it did not disclose.

Scope 1

tCO2e

55

Scope 2 (Market Based)

tCO2e

69

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

24,411

Not yet checked against the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Broadland District Council's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factor Total, all scopes including all Scope 3
0.269 kgCO2e / £

Supplier specific emission factors (kgCO2e / £)

Modelled
Reported
Scope 1 + 2 Direct + purchased energy
0.001
0.001
Upstream + upstream Scope 3
0.074
0.004
Total + all Scope 3
0.269
0.004

Scope 2 in these factors uses the company's market based figure.

Which figure should I use?

Comparing companies? Use Total Modelled. It is the most complete like-for-like view: any categories the company has not disclosed are filled with industry-typical estimates, so a transparent company is not unfairly penalised against one that simply has not reported.

Estimating your own supply-chain emissions from spend with this company? Use Upstream Modelled. The GHG Protocol defines purchased-goods emissions as cradle-to-gate, which means this company's own operations plus its upstream supply chain. The Total figure also includes downstream emissions, such as the lifetime use of the products this company sells, which the GHG Protocol attributes to the users of those products rather than to customers buying goods and services.

Reported counts only emissions the company has filed itself. A blank or low Reported cell does not mean those emissions do not exist, just that the company has not disclosed them. When Reported sits close to Modelled, that is a positive signal: the company has disclosed most of its salient emissions.

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Broadland District Council reported 395 tCO₂e in 2024.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 99% of emissions.
  • Reported across 5 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.
  • Scope 2 reported under the market based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, Broadland District Council reported total yearly emissions of 395 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 99% of the footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 2.1, placing it below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 1.6, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

55

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

99

tCO2e
REPORTED

Market based USED IN TOTAL

69

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

REPORTED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

24

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

2,578

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

188

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

2,039

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

1

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 6

Business travel

51

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

1,501

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

239

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

787

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

586

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

9,941

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

609

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

6

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 14

Franchises

107

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

5,754

tCO2e

10 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed and could not be modelled.

Verification

Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing Broadland District Council's emissions data.

Independent assurance

Independently assured (limited assurance) by Groundwork East for 2024

Contact Info

Address

–

Country

GBR

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs sector peers (emissions normalised against revenue), scaled by how transparent the reporting is. The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0), capped at 10.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Broadland District Council's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Companies with nothing to model are graded on how much of their industry's typical footprint the reported categories cover.

For Broadland District Council, the single biggest gap is Use of sold products (Scope 3 Category 11). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 41% of the company's total footprint, typically the largest source of emissions for a International Bodies company, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories Broadland District Council hasn't disclosed:

  • Investments (Scope 3 Category 15), around 23% of the estimated footprint
  • Capital goods (Scope 3 Category 2), around 11% of the estimated footprint
  • Upstream transportation & distribution (Scope 3 Category 4), around 8% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 92% of Broadland District Council's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paper Read the full scoring methodology Our white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10. Download the white paper (PDF)

Broadland District Council carbon emissions FAQs

What are Broadland District Council's carbon emissions?

In its 2024 reporting year, Broadland District Council disclosed total emissions of 395 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 24,535 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share, around 99% of the total.

Does Broadland District Council report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2024, Broadland District Council's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (55 tCO2e), Scope 2 (69 tCO2e), Scope 3 across 5 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is Broadland District Council's emissions reporting?

Broadland District Council has a Mycelium transparency score of 1.6 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is Broadland District Council sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Broadland District Council has a Mycelium Score of 2.1 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Broadland District Council environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Broadland District Council disclosed 395 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 2.1 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.