Back to search results

Compass Group PLC

Explore carbon emissions data for Compass Group PLC. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Compass Group PLC, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

11,674,889tCO2e

Scope 1

tCO2e

–

Scope 2

tCO2e

–

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

11,674,889

Figures from page 11 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Compass Group PLC's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Compass Group PLC reported 11,674,889 tCO₂e in 2025.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 100% of reported emissions.

According to available emissions disclosures, Compass Group PLC reported total yearly emissions of 11,674,889 tCO₂e in 2025. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 100% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company does not have a Mycelium Score for 2025, because there is no revenue figure on file to measure its carbon intensity.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

Direct emissions

–

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

Purchased energy

–

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

Compass Group PLC reported a Scope 3 total of 11,674,889 tCO₂e but did not break it down into the 15 categories. It counts in the total as reported.

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

–

tCO2e

Cat 2

Capital goods

–

tCO2e

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

–

tCO2e

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

–

tCO2e

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

–

tCO2e

Cat 6

Business travel

–

tCO2e

Cat 7

Employee commuting

–

tCO2e

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

–

tCO2e

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

–

tCO2e

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

–

tCO2e

Cat 11

Use of sold products

–

tCO2e

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

–

tCO2e

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

–

tCO2e

Cat 14

Franchises

–

tCO2e

Cat 15

Investments

–

tCO2e

Cells marked “–” were not disclosed, and Mycelium can't model them without a revenue figure for Compass Group PLC, which it doesn't have yet.

Verification

Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing Compass Group PLC's emissions data.

Independent assurance

Independently assured(limited assurance)by KPMG LLPfor 2025

Climate targets

Science Based Targets initiative

Near-term target

Targets set (1.5°C), target year 2030

Long-term target

Targets set, target year 2050

Net zero

Targets set, target year 2050

Source: Science Based Targets initiative, Companies Taking Action.

Contact Info

Website

www.com

Country

United Kingdom

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

Compass Group PLC reported a Scope 3 total of 11,674,889 tCO₂e but did not break it down into the 15 categories. It counts towards the footprint, but only a tenth of it counts as disclosed in the transparency score, because it does not show which categories it covers. Breaking it down would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare Compass Group PLC with similar companies

Compass Group PLC carbon emissions FAQs

What are Compass Group PLC's carbon emissions?

In its 2025 reporting year, Compass Group PLC disclosed total emissions of 11,674,889 tCO2e across all scopes. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 100%.

Does Compass Group PLC report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2025, Compass Group PLC's available disclosure covers a Scope 3 total of 11,674,889 tCO2e without a category breakdown. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

Is Compass Group PLC sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Compass Group PLC does not have a Mycelium Score for 2025 yet. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Compass Group PLC environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Compass Group PLC disclosed 11,674,889 tCO2e for 2025. It does not have a Mycelium Score yet to compare that with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.