Back to search results

Explore carbon emissions data for Equity Residential. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Equity Residential, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

1,449,974tCO2e(Market Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by Equity Residential
288,937 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
1,161,037 tCO₂e

Equity Residential reported 20% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 80% for the categories it did not disclose.

Scope 1

tCO2e

62,145

Scope 2 (Market Based)

tCO2e

44,804

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

1,343,025

Figures from pages 20 and 55 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Equity Residential's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.143kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Equity Residential reported 288,937 tCO₂e in 2024.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 63% of reported emissions.
  • Reported across 2 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.
  • Scope 2 reported under the market based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, Equity Residential reported total yearly emissions of 288,937 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 63% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 1.8, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 36.5, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

62,145

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

45,628

tCO2e
REPORTED

Market based USED IN TOTAL

44,804

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

ESTIMATED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

129,390

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

111,604

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

27,833

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

2,718

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

37,925

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 6

Business travel

969

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

2,342

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

7,093

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

754,131

tCO2e

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

–

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

89,511

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

12,315

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

144,063

tCO2e

Cat 14

Franchises

–

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

23,133

tCO2e

11 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed and could not be modelled.

Verification

Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing Equity Residential's emissions data.

Independent assurance

Independently assured(limited assurance)by LRQAfor 2024

Climate targets

Science Based Targets initiative

Near-term target

Targets set (Well-below 2°C), target year 2030

Source: Science Based Targets initiative, Companies Taking Action.

Contact Info

Country

United States of America

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Equity Residential's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For Equity Residential, the single biggest gap is Downstream transportation & distribution (Scope 3 Category 9). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 52% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories Equity Residential hasn't disclosed:

  • Purchased goods & services (Scope 3 Category 1), around 9% of the estimated footprint
  • Capital goods (Scope 3 Category 2), around 8% of the estimated footprint
  • Use of sold products (Scope 3 Category 11), around 6% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 80% of Equity Residential's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare Equity Residential with similar companies

Equity Residential carbon emissions FAQs

What are Equity Residential's carbon emissions?

In its 2024 reporting year, Equity Residential disclosed total emissions of 288,937 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 1,449,974 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 63%.

Does Equity Residential report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2024, Equity Residential's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (62,145 tCO2e), Scope 2 (44,804 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 2 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is Equity Residential's emissions reporting?

Equity Residential has a Mycelium transparency score of 36.5 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is Equity Residential sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Equity Residential has a Mycelium Score of 1.8 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Equity Residential environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Equity Residential disclosed 288,937 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 1.8 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.