Back to search results

Halfords Group PLC

Explore carbon emissions data for Halfords Group PLC. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Halfords Group PLC, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

1,330,291tCO2e(Market Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by Halfords Group PLC
16,316 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
1,313,975 tCO₂e

Halfords Group PLC reported 1% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 99% for the categories it did not disclose.

Scope 1

tCO2e

15,200

Scope 2 (Market Based)

tCO2e

1,116

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

1,313,975

Figures from page 70 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Halfords Group PLC's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.332kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Halfords Group PLC reported 16,316 tCO₂e in 2024.
  • Scope 2 reported under the market based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, Halfords Group PLC reported total yearly emissions of 16,316 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 1 emissions accounted for 93% of the reported footprint, indicating the company's own operations, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles, were the most significant contributors to its carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 0.1, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 1.9, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

15,200

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

9,020

tCO2e
REPORTED

Market based USED IN TOTAL

1,116

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

ESTIMATED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

629,916

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

10,829

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

4,098

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

30,817

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

2,612

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 6

Business travel

2,053

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

9,291

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

2,056

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

17,073

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

100,367

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

458,609

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

25,652

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

5,915

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 14

Franchises

6,141

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

8,547

tCO2e

15 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium.

Verification

Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing Halfords Group PLC's emissions data.

Carbon accountant

Carbon Trustprepared the 2024 figures

Climate targets

Science Based Targets initiative

Near-term target

Targets set (1.5°C), target year 2030

Net zero

Commitment removed

Source: Science Based Targets initiative, Companies Taking Action.

Contact Info

Country

United Kingdom

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Halfords Group PLC's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For Halfords Group PLC, the single biggest gap is Purchased goods & services (Scope 3 Category 1). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 47% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories Halfords Group PLC hasn't disclosed:

  • Use of sold products (Scope 3 Category 11), around 34% of the estimated footprint
  • Processing of sold products (Scope 3 Category 10), around 8% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 99% of Halfords Group PLC's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare Halfords Group PLC with similar companies

Halfords Group PLC carbon emissions FAQs

What are Halfords Group PLC's carbon emissions?

In its 2024 reporting year, Halfords Group PLC disclosed total emissions of 16,316 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 1,330,291 tCO2e. Scope 1 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 93%.

Does Halfords Group PLC report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2024, Halfords Group PLC's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (15,200 tCO2e) and Scope 2 (1,116 tCO2e). Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is Halfords Group PLC's emissions reporting?

Halfords Group PLC has a Mycelium transparency score of 1.9 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is Halfords Group PLC sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Halfords Group PLC has a Mycelium Score of 0.1 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Halfords Group PLC environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Halfords Group PLC disclosed 16,316 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 0.1 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.