Back to search results

Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora

0.2

Explore carbon emissions data for Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

2,481,052tCO2e(Location Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora
134,008 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
2,347,044 tCO₂e

Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora reported 5% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 95% for the categories it did not disclose.

Scope 1

tCO2e

78,906

Scope 2 (Location Based)

tCO2e

26,551

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

2,375,595

Not yet checked against the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.120kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora reported 134,008 tCO₂e in 2024.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 21% of reported emissions.
  • Reported across 1 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.
  • Scope 2 reported under the location based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora reported total yearly emissions of 134,008 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 1 emissions accounted for 59% of the reported footprint, indicating the company's own operations, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles, were the most significant contributors to its carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 0.2, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 6.6, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

78,906

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

26,551

tCO2e

Market based

–

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

ESTIMATED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

1,149,452

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

200,121

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

94,602

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

193,891

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

18,784

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 6

Business travel

28,551

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

77,658

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

17,340

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

124,681

tCO2e

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

–

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

300,609

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

18,514

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

50,321

tCO2e

Cat 14

Franchises

–

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

101,070

tCO2e

12 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed and could not be modelled.

Contact Info

Website

–

Country

New Zealand

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora, the single biggest gap is Purchased goods & services (Scope 3 Category 1). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 46% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora hasn't disclosed:

  • Use of sold products (Scope 3 Category 11), around 12% of the estimated footprint
  • Capital goods (Scope 3 Category 2), around 8% of the estimated footprint
  • Upstream transportation & distribution (Scope 3 Category 4), around 8% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 95% of Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora with similar companies

Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora carbon emissions FAQs

What are Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora's carbon emissions?

In its 2024 reporting year, Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora disclosed total emissions of 134,008 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 2,481,052 tCO2e. Scope 1 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 59%.

Does Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2024, Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (78,906 tCO2e), Scope 2 (26,551 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 1 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora's emissions reporting?

Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora has a Mycelium transparency score of 6.6 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora has a Mycelium Score of 0.2 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures and disclosure documents on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora disclosed 134,008 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 0.2 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.