Back to search results

House Foods Group

Explore carbon emissions data for House Foods Group. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for House Foods Group, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

1,368,760tCO2e(Location Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by House Foods Group
1,280,000 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
88,760 tCO₂e

House Foods Group reported 94% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 6% for the categories it did not disclose.

Scope 1

tCO2e

51,200

Scope 2 (Location Based)

tCO2e

51,200

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

1,266,360

Figures from page 45 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind House Foods Group's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.477kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • House Foods Group reported 1,280,000 tCO₂e in 2023.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 92% of reported emissions.
  • Reported across 9 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.
  • Scope 2 reported under the location based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, House Foods Group reported total yearly emissions of 1,280,000 tCO₂e in 2023. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 92% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 4.1, placing it mid-pack within its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 97.4, an exceptional result, reflecting open disclosure across nearly every key emissions metric.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

51,200

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

51,200

tCO2e

Market based

–

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

REPORTED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

768,000

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 2

Capital goods

25,600

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

12,800

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

51,200

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

11,782

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 6

Business travel

1,915

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

12,800

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

1,470

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

51,200

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

56,207

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

192,000

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

12,800

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

1,642

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 14

Franchises

51,200

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

15,743

tCO2e

6 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium.

Contact Info

Country

Japan

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. House Foods Group's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For House Foods Group, the single biggest gap is Processing of sold products (Scope 3 Category 10). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 4% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

In total, roughly 6% of House Foods Group's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare House Foods Group with similar companies

House Foods Group carbon emissions FAQs

What are House Foods Group's carbon emissions?

In its 2023 reporting year, House Foods Group disclosed total emissions of 1,280,000 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 1,368,760 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 92%.

Does House Foods Group report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2023, House Foods Group's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (51,200 tCO2e), Scope 2 (51,200 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 9 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is House Foods Group's emissions reporting?

House Foods Group has a Mycelium transparency score of 97.4 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is House Foods Group sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. House Foods Group has a Mycelium Score of 4.1 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures and disclosure documents on this page give the fuller picture.

Is House Foods Group environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. House Foods Group disclosed 1,280,000 tCO2e for 2023, and its Mycelium Score of 4.1 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.