Back to search results

IOOF Holdings Ltd

Explore carbon emissions data for IOOF Holdings Ltd. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for IOOF Holdings Ltd, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

4,538,120tCO2e(Location Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by IOOF Holdings Ltd
15,107 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
4,523,013 tCO₂e

IOOF Holdings Ltd reported less than 1% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining more than 99% for the categories it did not disclose. IOOF Holdings Ltd reported 1,391 tCO₂e of Scope 3 emissions beyond its breakdown into categories. The model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the adjusted total counts the model, with the reported figure inside it.

Scope 1

tCO2e

0

Scope 2 (Location Based)

tCO2e

1,342

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

4,536,778

Figures from page 22 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind IOOF Holdings Ltd's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.011kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • IOOF Holdings Ltd reported 15,107 tCO₂e in 2022.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 91% of reported emissions.
  • Reported across 5 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.
  • Scope 2 reported under the location based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, IOOF Holdings Ltd reported total yearly emissions of 15,107 tCO₂e in 2022. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 91% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 0.0, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 1.2, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

0

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

1,342

tCO2e

Market based

–

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

IOOF Holdings Ltd reported 1,391 tCO₂e of Scope 3 emissions beyond its breakdown into categories. Mycelium's model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the estimates below replace it in the adjusted total, with the reported figure counted inside them. The reported figure is not discarded, and you can see it in the downloads below.

REPORTED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

3,354

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

1,441

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

3,899

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

1,224

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

154

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 6

Business travel

982

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

2,916

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

844

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

816

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

16,844

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

9,205

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

619

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

1,058

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 14

Franchises

1,439

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

4,491,982

tCO2e

10 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. Part of the company's own Scope 3 was filed without a category, so it has no cell of its own. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium.

Contact Info

Country

Australia

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. IOOF Holdings Ltd's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For IOOF Holdings Ltd, the single biggest gap is Investments (Scope 3 Category 15). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 99% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

In total, roughly 100% of IOOF Holdings Ltd's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare IOOF Holdings Ltd with similar companies

IOOF Holdings Ltd carbon emissions FAQs

What are IOOF Holdings Ltd's carbon emissions?

In its 2022 reporting year, IOOF Holdings Ltd disclosed total emissions of 15,107 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 4,538,120 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 91%.

Does IOOF Holdings Ltd report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2022, IOOF Holdings Ltd's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (0 tCO2e), Scope 2 (1,342 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 5 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is IOOF Holdings Ltd's emissions reporting?

IOOF Holdings Ltd has a Mycelium transparency score of 1.2 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is IOOF Holdings Ltd sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. IOOF Holdings Ltd has a Mycelium Score of 0.0 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures and disclosure documents on this page give the fuller picture.

Is IOOF Holdings Ltd environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. IOOF Holdings Ltd disclosed 15,107 tCO2e for 2022, and its Mycelium Score of 0.0 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.