Back to search results

Explore carbon emissions data for KATEK SE. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for KATEK SE, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

381,751tCO2e(Location Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by KATEK SE
13,685 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
368,066 tCO₂e

KATEK SE reported 4% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 96% for the categories it did not disclose. KATEK SE reported a Scope 3 total of 3,407 tCO₂e but did not break it down into the 15 categories. The model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the adjusted total counts the model, with the reported figure inside it.

Scope 1

tCO2e

1,336

Scope 2 (Location Based)

tCO2e

8,942

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

371,473

Figures from pages 18 and 28 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind KATEK SE's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.199kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • KATEK SE reported 13,685 tCO₂e in 2021.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 25% of reported emissions.
  • Scope 2 reported under the location based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, KATEK SE reported total yearly emissions of 13,685 tCO₂e in 2021. Scope 2 emissions accounted for 65% of the reported footprint, indicating purchased energy was the most significant contributor to its carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 0.2, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 5.7, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

1,336

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

8,942

tCO2e

Market based

–

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

KATEK SE reported a Scope 3 total of 3,407 tCO₂e but did not break it down into the 15 categories. Mycelium's model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the estimates below replace it in the adjusted total, with the reported figure counted inside them. The reported figure is not discarded, and you can see it in the downloads below.

ESTIMATED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

98,819

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

3,977

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

2,128

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

3,165

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

918

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 6

Business travel

1,301

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

2,543

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

428

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

4,569

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

9,677

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

225,430

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

4,818

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

631

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 14

Franchises

4,382

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

8,686

tCO2e

15 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. The company's own Scope 3 total is reported, it was simply filed as a single figure with no category split. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium.

Verification

Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing KATEK SE's emissions data.

Carbon accountant

VERSO and ConClimateprepared the 2021 figures

Contact Info

Country

Germany

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. KATEK SE's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For KATEK SE, the single biggest gap is Use of sold products (Scope 3 Category 11). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 59% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories KATEK SE hasn't disclosed:

  • Purchased goods & services (Scope 3 Category 1), around 26% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 97% of KATEK SE's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare KATEK SE with similar companies

KATEK SE carbon emissions FAQs

What are KATEK SE's carbon emissions?

In its 2021 reporting year, KATEK SE disclosed total emissions of 13,685 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 381,751 tCO2e. Scope 2 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 65%.

Does KATEK SE report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2021, KATEK SE's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (1,336 tCO2e), Scope 2 (8,942 tCO2e) and a Scope 3 total of 3,407 tCO2e without a category breakdown. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is KATEK SE's emissions reporting?

KATEK SE has a Mycelium transparency score of 5.7 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is KATEK SE sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. KATEK SE has a Mycelium Score of 0.2 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures and disclosure documents on this page give the fuller picture.

Is KATEK SE environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. KATEK SE disclosed 13,685 tCO2e for 2021, and its Mycelium Score of 0.2 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.