Back to search results

Explore carbon emissions data for KINDRED GROUP PLC. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for KINDRED GROUP PLC, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

106,021tCO2e(Market Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by KINDRED GROUP PLC
5,039 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
100,982 tCO₂e

KINDRED GROUP PLC reported 5% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 95% for the categories it did not disclose. KINDRED GROUP PLC reported a Scope 3 total of 4,488 tCO₂e but did not break it down into the 15 categories. The model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the adjusted total counts the model, with the reported figure inside it.

Scope 1

tCO2e

84

Scope 2 (Market Based)

tCO2e

467

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

105,470

Figures from page 53 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind KINDRED GROUP PLC's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.059kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • KINDRED GROUP PLC reported 5,039 tCO₂e in 2023.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 89% of reported emissions.
  • Scope 2 reported under the market based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, KINDRED GROUP PLC reported total yearly emissions of 5,039 tCO₂e in 2023. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 89% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 0.1, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 1.1, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

84

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

Location based

–

tCO2e
REPORTED

Market based

467

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

KINDRED GROUP PLC reported a Scope 3 total of 4,488 tCO₂e but did not break it down into the 15 categories. Mycelium's model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the estimates below replace it in the adjusted total, with the reported figure counted inside them. The reported figure is not discarded, and you can see it in the downloads below.

ESTIMATED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

66,307

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

11,710

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

7,647

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

644

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

583

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 6

Business travel

939

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

1,609

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

938

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

2,185

tCO2e

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

–

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

7,497

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

530

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

1,553

tCO2e

Cat 14

Franchises

–

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

3,329

tCO2e

13 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. The company's own Scope 3 total is reported, it was simply filed as a single figure with no category split. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed and could not be modelled.

Climate targets

Science Based Targets initiative

Near-term target

Commitment removed

Net zero

Commitment removed

Source: Science Based Targets initiative, Companies Taking Action.

Contact Info

Country

Sweden

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. KINDRED GROUP PLC's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For KINDRED GROUP PLC, the single biggest gap is Purchased goods & services (Scope 3 Category 1). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 63% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories KINDRED GROUP PLC hasn't disclosed:

  • Capital goods (Scope 3 Category 2), around 11% of the estimated footprint
  • Fuel & energy related activities (Scope 3 Category 3), around 7% of the estimated footprint
  • Use of sold products (Scope 3 Category 11), around 7% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 99% of KINDRED GROUP PLC's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare KINDRED GROUP PLC with similar companies

KINDRED GROUP PLC carbon emissions FAQs

What are KINDRED GROUP PLC's carbon emissions?

In its 2023 reporting year, KINDRED GROUP PLC disclosed total emissions of 5,039 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 106,021 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 89%.

Does KINDRED GROUP PLC report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2023, KINDRED GROUP PLC's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (84 tCO2e), Scope 2 (467 tCO2e) and a Scope 3 total of 4,488 tCO2e without a category breakdown. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is KINDRED GROUP PLC's emissions reporting?

KINDRED GROUP PLC has a Mycelium transparency score of 1.1 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is KINDRED GROUP PLC sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. KINDRED GROUP PLC has a Mycelium Score of 0.1 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is KINDRED GROUP PLC environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. KINDRED GROUP PLC disclosed 5,039 tCO2e for 2023, and its Mycelium Score of 0.1 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.