Back to search results

Explore carbon emissions data for Macfarlane Group PLC. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Macfarlane Group PLC, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

235,250tCO2e(Market Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by Macfarlane Group PLC
200,505 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
34,745 tCO₂e

Macfarlane Group PLC reported 85% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 15% for the categories it did not disclose. Macfarlane Group PLC reported 3,916 tCO₂e of Scope 3 emissions beyond its breakdown into categories. The model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the adjusted total counts the model, with the reported figure inside it.

Scope 1

tCO2e

4,535

Scope 2 (Market Based)

tCO2e

168

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

230,547

Figures from pages 12 and 20 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Macfarlane Group PLC's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.501kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Macfarlane Group PLC reported 200,505 tCO₂e in 2024.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 98% of reported emissions.
  • Reported across 5 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.
  • Scope 2 reported under the market based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, Macfarlane Group PLC reported total yearly emissions of 200,505 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 98% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 3.8, placing it below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 91.5, an exceptional result, reflecting open disclosure across nearly every key emissions metric.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

4,535

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

Location based

–

tCO2e
REPORTED

Market based

168

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

Macfarlane Group PLC reported 3,916 tCO₂e of Scope 3 emissions beyond its breakdown into categories. Mycelium's model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the estimates below replace it in the adjusted total, with the reported figure counted inside them. The reported figure is not discarded, and you can see it in the downloads below.

REPORTED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

152,726

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

4,224

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

1,958

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

1,958

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

5,844

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 6

Business travel

629

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

1,084

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

238

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

5,660

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

10,588

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

1,958

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

33,286

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

3,108

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 14

Franchises

2,443

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

4,842

tCO2e

10 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. Part of the company's own Scope 3 was filed without a category, so it has no cell of its own. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium.

Verification

Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing Macfarlane Group PLC's emissions data.

Independent assurance

Independently assured(limited assurance)by EcoActfor 2024

Carbon accountant

Macfarlane Groupprepared the 2024 figures

Contact Info

Country

United Kingdom

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Macfarlane Group PLC's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For Macfarlane Group PLC, the single biggest gap is Processing of sold products (Scope 3 Category 10). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 5% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

In total, roughly 16% of Macfarlane Group PLC's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare Macfarlane Group PLC with similar companies

Macfarlane Group PLC carbon emissions FAQs

What are Macfarlane Group PLC's carbon emissions?

In its 2024 reporting year, Macfarlane Group PLC disclosed total emissions of 200,505 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 235,250 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 98%.

Does Macfarlane Group PLC report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2024, Macfarlane Group PLC's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (4,535 tCO2e), Scope 2 (168 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 5 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is Macfarlane Group PLC's emissions reporting?

Macfarlane Group PLC has a Mycelium transparency score of 91.5 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is Macfarlane Group PLC sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Macfarlane Group PLC has a Mycelium Score of 3.8 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures and disclosure documents on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Macfarlane Group PLC environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Macfarlane Group PLC disclosed 200,505 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 3.8 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.