Back to search results

Northern Powergrid Holdings Company

Explore carbon emissions data for Northern Powergrid Holdings Company. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Northern Powergrid Holdings Company, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

1,639,852tCO2e(Location Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by Northern Powergrid Holdings Company
16,382 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
1,623,470 tCO₂e

Northern Powergrid Holdings Company reported 1% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 99% for the categories it did not disclose. Northern Powergrid Holdings Company reported a Scope 3 total of 3,027 tCO₂e but did not break it down into the 15 categories. The model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the adjusted total counts the model, with the reported figure inside it.

Scope 1

tCO2e

7,429

Scope 2 (Location Based)

tCO2e

5,926

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

1,626,497

Figures from page 20 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Northern Powergrid Holdings Company's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.706kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Northern Powergrid Holdings Company reported 16,382 tCO₂e in 2024.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 18% of reported emissions.
  • Scope 2 reported under the location based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, Northern Powergrid Holdings Company reported total yearly emissions of 16,382 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 1 emissions accounted for 45% of the reported footprint, indicating the company's own operations, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles, were the most significant contributors to its carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 0.1, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 1.1, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

7,429

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

5,926

tCO2e

Market based

–

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

Northern Powergrid Holdings Company reported a Scope 3 total of 3,027 tCO₂e but did not break it down into the 15 categories. Mycelium's model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the estimates below replace it in the adjusted total, with the reported figure counted inside them. The reported figure is not discarded, and you can see it in the downloads below.

ESTIMATED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

210,305

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

134,806

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

820,326

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

2,549

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

1,437

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 6

Business travel

468

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

2,212

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

739

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

9,075

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

33,534

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

405,569

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

1,296

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

995

tCO2e

Cat 14

Franchises

–

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

3,186

tCO2e

14 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. The company's own Scope 3 total is reported, it was simply filed as a single figure with no category split. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed and could not be modelled.

Verification

Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing Northern Powergrid Holdings Company's emissions data.

Independent assurance

Independently assured(limited assurance)by KPMG LLPfor 2024

Climate targets

Science Based Targets initiative

Near-term target

Targets set (1.5°C), target year 2034

Source: Science Based Targets initiative, Companies Taking Action.

Contact Info

Country

United Kingdom

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Northern Powergrid Holdings Company's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For Northern Powergrid Holdings Company, the single biggest gap is Fuel & energy related activities (Scope 3 Category 3). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 50% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories Northern Powergrid Holdings Company hasn't disclosed:

  • Use of sold products (Scope 3 Category 11), around 25% of the estimated footprint
  • Purchased goods & services (Scope 3 Category 1), around 13% of the estimated footprint
  • Capital goods (Scope 3 Category 2), around 8% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 99% of Northern Powergrid Holdings Company's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare Northern Powergrid Holdings Company with similar companies

Northern Powergrid Holdings Company carbon emissions FAQs

What are Northern Powergrid Holdings Company's carbon emissions?

In its 2024 reporting year, Northern Powergrid Holdings Company disclosed total emissions of 16,382 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 1,639,852 tCO2e. Scope 1 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 45%.

Does Northern Powergrid Holdings Company report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2024, Northern Powergrid Holdings Company's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (7,429 tCO2e), Scope 2 (5,926 tCO2e) and a Scope 3 total of 3,027 tCO2e without a category breakdown. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is Northern Powergrid Holdings Company's emissions reporting?

Northern Powergrid Holdings Company has a Mycelium transparency score of 1.1 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is Northern Powergrid Holdings Company sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Northern Powergrid Holdings Company has a Mycelium Score of 0.1 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Northern Powergrid Holdings Company environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Northern Powergrid Holdings Company disclosed 16,382 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 0.1 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.