Back to search results

SAPPORO HOLDINGS

Explore carbon emissions data for SAPPORO HOLDINGS. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for SAPPORO HOLDINGS, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

2,736,210tCO2e(Market Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by SAPPORO HOLDINGS
1,280,000 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
1,456,210 tCO₂e

SAPPORO HOLDINGS reported 47% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 53% for the categories it did not disclose. SAPPORO HOLDINGS reported a Scope 3 total of 1,105,000 tCO₂e but did not break it down into the 15 categories. The model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the adjusted total counts the model, with the reported figure inside it.

Scope 1

tCO2e

133,894

Scope 2 (Market Based)

tCO2e

175,000

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

2,427,317

Not yet checked against the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind SAPPORO HOLDINGS's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.510kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • SAPPORO HOLDINGS reported 1,280,000 tCO₂e in 2023.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 86% of reported emissions.
  • Scope 2 reported under the market based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, SAPPORO HOLDINGS reported total yearly emissions of 1,280,000 tCO₂e in 2023. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 86% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 0.5, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 13.7, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

ESTIMATED

Direct emissions

133,894

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

Location based

–

tCO2e
REPORTED

Market based

175,000

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

SAPPORO HOLDINGS reported a Scope 3 total of 1,105,000 tCO₂e but did not break it down into the 15 categories. Mycelium's model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the estimates below replace it in the adjusted total, with the reported figure counted inside them. The reported figure is not discarded, and you can see it in the downloads below.

ESTIMATED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

1,371,176

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

31,679

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

41,533

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

105,136

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

1,944

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 6

Business travel

8,608

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

2,549

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

2,613

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

142,720

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

99,876

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

340,519

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

44,620

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

193,921

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 14

Franchises

12,448

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 15

Investments

27,975

tCO2e

16 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. The company's own Scope 3 total is reported, it was simply filed as a single figure with no category split. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium.

Climate targets

Science Based Targets initiative

Near-term target

Targets set (1.5°C), target year 2030

Source: Science Based Targets initiative, Companies Taking Action.

Contact Info

Country

Japan

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. SAPPORO HOLDINGS's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For SAPPORO HOLDINGS, the single biggest gap is Purchased goods & services (Scope 3 Category 1). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 50% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories SAPPORO HOLDINGS hasn't disclosed:

  • Use of sold products (Scope 3 Category 11), around 12% of the estimated footprint
  • Downstream leased assets (Scope 3 Category 13), around 7% of the estimated footprint
  • Downstream transportation & distribution (Scope 3 Category 9), around 5% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 94% of SAPPORO HOLDINGS's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare SAPPORO HOLDINGS with similar companies

SAPPORO HOLDINGS carbon emissions FAQs

What are SAPPORO HOLDINGS's carbon emissions?

In its 2023 reporting year, SAPPORO HOLDINGS disclosed total emissions of 1,280,000 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 2,736,210 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 86%.

Does SAPPORO HOLDINGS report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2023, SAPPORO HOLDINGS's available disclosure covers Scope 2 (175,000 tCO2e) and a Scope 3 total of 1,105,000 tCO2e without a category breakdown. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is SAPPORO HOLDINGS's emissions reporting?

SAPPORO HOLDINGS has a Mycelium transparency score of 13.7 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is SAPPORO HOLDINGS sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. SAPPORO HOLDINGS has a Mycelium Score of 0.5 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is SAPPORO HOLDINGS environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. SAPPORO HOLDINGS disclosed 1,280,000 tCO2e for 2023, and its Mycelium Score of 0.5 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.