Back to search results

Sonova Holding SA

Explore carbon emissions data for Sonova Holding SA. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Sonova Holding SA, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

448,090tCO2e(Market Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by Sonova Holding SA
257,928 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
190,162 tCO₂e

Sonova Holding SA reported 58% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 42% for the categories it did not disclose.

Scope 1

tCO2e

9,999

Scope 2 (Market Based)

tCO2e

889

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

437,202

Figures from page 20 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Sonova Holding SA's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.054kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Sonova Holding SA reported 257,928 tCO₂e in 2026.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 96% of reported emissions.
  • Reported across 11 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.
  • Scope 2 reported under the market based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, Sonova Holding SA reported total yearly emissions of 257,928 tCO₂e in 2026. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 96% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 5.5, placing it mid-pack within its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 84.4, meaning they share solid detail across the main emissions areas.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

9,999

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

18,275

tCO2e
REPORTED

Market based USED IN TOTAL

889

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

REPORTED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

128,118

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 2

Capital goods

3,298

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

9,603

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

66,063

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

555

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 6

Business travel

13,307

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

18,830

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

471

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

45,419

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

125,443

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

4,166

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

2,216

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

3,665

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 14

Franchises

15,635

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 15

Investments

413

tCO2e

4 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium.

Verification

Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing Sonova Holding SA's emissions data.

Independent assurance

Independently assured(limited assurance)by Ernst & Young Ltd (EY)for 2026

Climate targets

Science Based Targets initiative

Near-term target

Targets set (1.5°C), target year 2032

Source: Science Based Targets initiative, Companies Taking Action.

Contact Info

Country

Switzerland

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Sonova Holding SA's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For Sonova Holding SA, the single biggest gap is Processing of sold products (Scope 3 Category 10). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 28% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories Sonova Holding SA hasn't disclosed:

  • Downstream transportation & distribution (Scope 3 Category 9), around 10% of the estimated footprint
  • Franchises (Scope 3 Category 14), around 3% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 42% of Sonova Holding SA's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare Sonova Holding SA with similar companies

Sonova Holding SA carbon emissions FAQs

What are Sonova Holding SA's carbon emissions?

In its 2026 reporting year, Sonova Holding SA disclosed total emissions of 257,928 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 448,090 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 96%.

Does Sonova Holding SA report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2026, Sonova Holding SA's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (9,999 tCO2e), Scope 2 (889 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 11 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is Sonova Holding SA's emissions reporting?

Sonova Holding SA has a Mycelium transparency score of 84.4 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is Sonova Holding SA sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Sonova Holding SA has a Mycelium Score of 5.5 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Sonova Holding SA environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Sonova Holding SA disclosed 257,928 tCO2e for 2026, and its Mycelium Score of 5.5 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.