Back to search results

Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group)

0.6

Explore carbon emissions data for Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group). Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group), including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

892,336,403tCO2e(Market Based)(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group)
892,002,000 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
334,403 tCO₂e

Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) reported more than 99% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining less than 1% for the categories it did not disclose.

Scope 1

tCO2e

14,000

Scope 2 (Market Based)

tCO2e

68,000

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

892,254,403

Not yet checked against the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group)'s emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
0.012kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) reported 892,002,000 tCO₂e in 2025.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 100% of reported emissions.
  • Reported emissions decreased 2.8% from 2024.
  • Reported across 1 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.
  • Disclosures available for 2 reporting years (since 2024).
  • Scope 2 reported under the market based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) reported total yearly emissions of 892,002,000 tCO₂e in 2025. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 100% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 0.6, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 99.9, an exceptional result, reflecting open disclosure across nearly every key emissions metric.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

14,000

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

Location based

–

tCO2e
REPORTED

Market based

68,000

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

ESTIMATED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

382,393

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

144,700

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

36,946

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

19,648

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

2,819

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 6

Business travel

18,822

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

85,632

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

18,887

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

20,772

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

807,425

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

5,476

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

1,829

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

40,080

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 14

Franchises

68,973

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 15

Investments

890,600,000

tCO2e

14 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium.

Contact Info

Website

–

Country

Japan

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group)'s score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) has disclosed the categories that carry most of its estimated footprint, so there's no single bucket dragging the transparency score down. The breakdown above shows which figures are reported and which are modelled.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) with similar companies

Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) carbon emissions FAQs

What are Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group)'s carbon emissions?

In its 2025 reporting year, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) disclosed total emissions of 892,002,000 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 892,336,403 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 100%.

Does Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2025, Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group)'s available disclosure covers Scope 1 (14,000 tCO2e), Scope 2 (68,000 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 1 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group)'s emissions reporting?

Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) has a Mycelium transparency score of 99.9 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) has a Mycelium Score of 0.6 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures and disclosure documents on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Sumitomo Mitsui Financial Group, Inc. (SMBC Group) disclosed 892,002,000 tCO2e for 2025, and its Mycelium Score of 0.6 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.