Back to search results

Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH

Explore carbon emissions data for Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

409,168tCO2e(Market Based)

Scope 1

tCO2e

1,408

Scope 2 (Market Based)

tCO2e

1,775

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

405,985

Figures from page 23 of the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH reported 409,168 tCO₂e in 2024.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 99% of reported emissions.
  • Reported across 10 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.
  • Scope 2 reported under the market based methodology.

According to available emissions disclosures, Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH reported total yearly emissions of 409,168 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 99% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company does not have a Mycelium Score for 2024, because there is no revenue figure on file to measure its carbon intensity.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

1,408

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

REPORTED

Location based

1

tCO2e
REPORTED

Market based USED IN TOTAL

1,775

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

REPORTED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

7,976

tCO2e

Cat 2

Capital goods

–

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

616

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

1,272

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

326

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 6

Business travel

270

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

1,067

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

0

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

785

tCO2e

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

–

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 11

Use of sold products

393,296

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

377

tCO2e

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

–

tCO2e

Cat 14

Franchises

–

tCO2e

Cat 15

Investments

–

tCO2e

Cells marked “–” were not disclosed, and Mycelium can't model them without a revenue figure for Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH, which it doesn't have yet.

Climate targets

Science Based Targets initiative

Near-term target

Committed

Source: Science Based Targets initiative, Companies Taking Action.

Contact Info

Country

Germany

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH has disclosed the categories that carry most of its estimated footprint, so there's no single bucket dragging the transparency score down. The breakdown above shows which figures are reported and which are modelled.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH with similar companies

Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH carbon emissions FAQs

What are Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH's carbon emissions?

In its 2024 reporting year, Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH disclosed total emissions of 409,168 tCO2e across all scopes. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 99%.

Does Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2024, Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (1,408 tCO2e), Scope 2 (1,775 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 10 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

Is Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH does not have a Mycelium Score for 2024 yet. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Sumitomo (SHI) Demag Plastics Machinery GmbH disclosed 409,168 tCO2e for 2024. It does not have a Mycelium Score yet to compare that with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.