Back to search results

University of Oxford

Explore carbon emissions data for University of Oxford. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.

This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for University of Oxford, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.

Emissions

Carbon emissions

Total yearly emissions across all scopes

273,671tCO2e(Mycelium adjusted)

Reported by University of Oxford
269,094 tCO₂e
Estimated by Mycelium
4,577 tCO₂e

University of Oxford reported 98% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 2% for the categories it did not disclose. University of Oxford reported 225,878 tCO₂e of Scope 3 emissions beyond its breakdown into categories. The model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the adjusted total counts the model, with the reported figure inside it.

Scope 1

tCO2e

18,218

Scope 2

tCO2e

–

Scope 3 total

tCO2e

255,453

Not yet checked against the source report

Scope 3 reported

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. 10
  11. 11
  12. 12
  13. 13
  14. 14
  15. 15

Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset

See the scope breakdown

Provenance

Review the sources and documents behind University of Oxford's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.

Documents

Emissions
Factors

Modelled emission factorScope 1, 2 and upstream Scope 3 (categories 1–8)
–kgCO2e / $

Sustainability
Snapshot

Based on reported data, retrieved with AI

  • University of Oxford reported 269,094 tCO₂e in 2024.
  • Scope 3 accounted for 93% of reported emissions.
  • Reported across 1 of 15 GHG Protocol Scope 3 categories.

According to available emissions disclosures, University of Oxford reported total yearly emissions of 269,094 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 93% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.

The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 1.0, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 24.0, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.

Scope
breakdown

Scope 1 emissions

Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.

REPORTED

Direct emissions

18,218

tCO2e

Scope 2 emissions

Indirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.

Purchased energy

–

tCO2e

Scope 3 emissions

Wider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.

University of Oxford reported 225,878 tCO₂e of Scope 3 emissions beyond its breakdown into categories. Mycelium's model of the categories it did not report comes to more than that, so the estimates below replace it in the adjusted total, with the reported figure counted inside them. The reported figure is not discarded, and you can see it in the downloads below.

ESTIMATED

Cat 1

Purchased goods & services

186,039

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 2

Capital goods

28,559

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 3

Fuel & energy related activities

9,403

tCO2e

Cat 4

Upstream transportation & distribution

–

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 5

Waste generated in operations

101

tCO2e
REPORTED

Cat 6

Business travel

24,998

tCO2e
ESTIMATED

Cat 7

Employee commuting

6,354

tCO2e

Cat 8

Upstream leased assets

–

tCO2e

Cat 9

Downstream transportation & distribution

–

tCO2e

Cat 10

Processing of sold products

–

tCO2e

Cat 11

Use of sold products

–

tCO2e

Cat 12

End-of-life treatment of sold products

–

tCO2e

Cat 13

Downstream leased assets

–

tCO2e

Cat 14

Franchises

–

tCO2e

Cat 15

Investments

–

tCO2e

5 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. Part of the company's own Scope 3 was filed without a category, so it has no cell of its own. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed and could not be modelled.

Climate targets

Science Based Targets initiative

Near-term target

Targets set (1.5°C), target year 2030

Long-term target

Targets set (1.5°C), target year 2035

Net zero

Targets set, target year 2050

Source: Science Based Targets initiative, Companies Taking Action.

Contact Info

Website

ox.ac.uk

Country

United Kingdom

Browse carbon emissions data by industry

How scoring works

How the Mycelium Score is calculated

The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.

A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. University of Oxford's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.

How the Transparency Score is calculated

The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.

For University of Oxford, the single biggest gap is Purchased goods & services (Scope 3 Category 1). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 68% of the company's estimated footprint, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.

Other material categories University of Oxford hasn't disclosed:

  • Capital goods (Scope 3 Category 2), around 10% of the estimated footprint
  • Fuel & energy related activities (Scope 3 Category 3), around 3% of the estimated footprint

In total, roughly 84% of University of Oxford's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.

Cover of Mycelium's scoring methodology white paperRead the full scoring methodologyOur white paper covers exactly how the Mycelium Score and Transparency Score are calculated, including the normalisation process and what earns a 10/10.Download the white paper (PDF)

Compare University of Oxford with similar companies

University of Oxford carbon emissions FAQs

What are University of Oxford's carbon emissions?

In its 2024 reporting year, University of Oxford disclosed total emissions of 269,094 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 273,671 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 93%.

Does University of Oxford report Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 emissions?

For 2024, University of Oxford's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (18,218 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 1 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.

How transparent is University of Oxford's emissions reporting?

University of Oxford has a Mycelium transparency score of 24.0 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.

Is University of Oxford sustainable?

Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. University of Oxford has a Mycelium Score of 1.0 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.

Is University of Oxford environmentally friendly?

Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. University of Oxford disclosed 269,094 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 1.0 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.

Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.