Direct emissions
315,969
tCO2e
Explore carbon emissions data for SHI. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.
This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for SHI, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.
Total yearly emissions across all scopes
78,295,961tCO2e(Market Based)(Mycelium adjusted)
SHI reported more than 99% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining less than 1% for the categories it did not disclose.
Scope 1
tCO2e
315,969
Scope 2 (Market Based)
tCO2e
289,789
Scope 3 total
tCO2e
77,690,203
Figures from pages 139 and 140 of the source report
Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset
See the scope breakdownPer US dollar of revenue. Mycelium models the upstream factor only.
Estimating your own supply-chain emissions from spend with this company? Use Upstream Modelled. The GHG Protocol defines purchased-goods emissions as cradle-to-gate, which means this company's own operations plus its upstream supply chain. Any of those emissions the company has not disclosed are filled with modelled estimates, so a transparent company is not unfairly penalised against one that simply has not reported.
Looking at what the company filed itself? Use the Reported column. Total Reported also includes downstream emissions, such as the lifetime use of the products this company sells, which the GHG Protocol attributes to the users of those products rather than to customers buying goods and services.
Reported counts only emissions the company has filed itself. A blank or low Reported cell does not mean those emissions do not exist, just that the company has not disclosed them. When Upstream Reported sits close to Upstream Modelled, that is a positive signal: the company has disclosed most of its upstream emissions.
Based on reported data, retrieved with AI
According to available emissions disclosures, SHI reported total yearly emissions of 78,010,958 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 99% of the reported footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.
The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 0.0, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 99.9, an exceptional result, reflecting open disclosure across nearly every key emissions metric.
Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.
Direct emissions
315,969
tCO2eIndirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.
Location based
289,868
tCO2eMarket based USED IN TOTAL
289,789
tCO2eWider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.
Cat 1
Purchased goods & services
3,873,565
tCO2eCat 2
Capital goods
10,332
tCO2eCat 3
Fuel & energy related activities
49,166
tCO2eCat 4
Upstream transportation & distribution
8,690
tCO2eCat 5
Waste generated in operations
9,109
tCO2eCat 6
Business travel
914
tCO2eCat 7
Employee commuting
6,229
tCO2eCat 8
Upstream leased assets
1,042
tCO2eCat 9
Downstream transportation & distribution
68,072
tCO2eCat 10
Processing of sold products
188,008
tCO2eCat 11
Use of sold products
73,346,773
tCO2eCat 12
End-of-life treatment of sold products
99,179
tCO2eCat 13
Downstream leased assets
5,493
tCO2eCat 14
Franchises
23,432
tCO2eCat 15
Investments
200
tCO2e4 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium.
Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing SHI's emissions data.
Independently assured(moderate level based on aa1000 as and type 2 assurance)by British Standards Institution (BSI)for 2024
Samsung Heavy Industries Co., Ltd.prepared the 2024 figures
Website
samsungheavy.comCountry
South Korea
Jump straight into the sectors users explore most, or view all industries.
The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs peers in the same NACE section (emissions normalised against revenue, log-scaled between the 5th and 95th percentile of each company's latest reporting year in that section; a section needs at least 5 companies to be benchmarked). The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0). The total is multiplied by the transparency score and capped at 10. A disclosure with an implausibly large figure (Scope 1 or 2 over 300 million tonnes, a Scope 3 figure over 2 billion tonnes or a total over 2.5 billion tonnes) is not scored until it has been checked.
A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. SHI's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel. Without a revenue figure to measure carbon intensity, or an industry classification to compare it within, a company has no score.
The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. Unreported downstream categories (9 to 15) count at a quarter of their modelled size in this share; the carbon intensity behind the score still counts them in full. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Without a revenue figure the footprint cannot be modelled, so the company has no Transparency Score.
SHI has disclosed the categories that carry most of its estimated footprint, so there's no single bucket dragging the transparency score down. The breakdown above shows which figures are reported and which are modelled.
In its 2024 reporting year, SHI disclosed total emissions of 78,010,958 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 78,295,961 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share of the reported total, around 99%.
For 2024, SHI's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (315,969 tCO2e), Scope 2 (289,789 tCO2e) and Scope 3 across 11 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.
SHI has a Mycelium transparency score of 99.9 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.
Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. SHI has a Mycelium Score of 0.0 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures and disclosure documents on this page give the fuller picture.
Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. SHI disclosed 78,010,958 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 0.0 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.
Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.