Direct emissions
3,347
tCO2e
Explore carbon emissions data for Crawley Borough Council. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.
This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Crawley Borough Council, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.
Total yearly emissions across all scopes
82,817 tCO2e (Location Based) (Mycelium adjusted)
Crawley Borough Council reported 55% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 45% for the categories it did not disclose.
Scope 1
tCO2e
3,347
Scope 2 (Location Based)
tCO2e
1,045
Scope 3 total
tCO2e
78,425
Checked against page 1 of the source report on 3 Oct 2026
The GHG Protocol splits Scope 3 into 15 categories. Ticked categories are the ones this disclosure reports; the rest are either not applicable or estimated by Mycelium.
Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset
See the scope breakdownScope 2 in these factors uses the company's location based figure.
Comparing companies? Use Total Modelled. It is the most complete like-for-like view: any categories the company has not disclosed are filled with industry-typical estimates, so a transparent company is not unfairly penalised against one that simply has not reported.
Estimating your own supply-chain emissions from spend with this company? Use Upstream Modelled. The GHG Protocol defines purchased-goods emissions as cradle-to-gate, which means this company's own operations plus its upstream supply chain. The Total figure also includes downstream emissions, such as the lifetime use of the products this company sells, which the GHG Protocol attributes to the users of those products rather than to customers buying goods and services.
Reported counts only emissions the company has filed itself. A blank or low Reported cell does not mean those emissions do not exist, just that the company has not disclosed them. When Reported sits close to Modelled, that is a positive signal: the company has disclosed most of its salient emissions.
Based on reported data, retrieved with AI
According to available emissions disclosures, Crawley Borough Council reported total yearly emissions of 45,498 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 95% of the footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.
The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 2.5, placing it below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 54.9, pointing to fairly limited disclosure, with notable gaps in key areas.
Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.
Direct emissions
3,347
tCO2eIndirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.
Location based
1,045
tCO2eMarket based
–
tCO2eWider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.
Cat 1
Purchased goods & services
14,313
tCO2eCat 2
Capital goods
2,956
tCO2eCat 3
Fuel & energy related activities
863
tCO2eCat 4
Upstream transportation & distribution
18
tCO2eCat 5
Waste generated in operations
87
tCO2eCat 6
Business travel
26
tCO2eCat 7
Employee commuting
223
tCO2eCat 8
Upstream leased assets
495
tCO2eCat 9
Downstream transportation & distribution
1,629
tCO2eCat 10
Processing of sold products
1,213
tCO2eCat 11
Use of sold products
20,585
tCO2eCat 12
End-of-life treatment of sold products
1,262
tCO2eCat 13
Downstream leased assets
22,620
tCO2eCat 14
Franchises
221
tCO2eCat 15
Investments
11,914
tCO2e7 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed and could not be modelled.
Jump straight into the sectors users explore most, or view all industries.
The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs sector peers (emissions normalised against revenue), scaled by how transparent the reporting is. The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0), capped at 10.
A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Crawley Borough Council's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel.
The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Companies with nothing to model are graded on how much of their industry's typical footprint the reported categories cover.
For Crawley Borough Council, the single biggest gap is Use of sold products (Scope 3 Category 11). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 25% of the company's total footprint, typically the largest source of emissions for a International Bodies company, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.
Other material categories Crawley Borough Council hasn't disclosed:
In total, roughly 39% of Crawley Borough Council's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.
In its 2024 reporting year, Crawley Borough Council disclosed total emissions of 45,498 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 82,817 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share, around 95% of the total.
For 2024, Crawley Borough Council's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (3,347 tCO2e), Scope 2 (1,045 tCO2e), Scope 3 across 8 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.
Crawley Borough Council has a Mycelium transparency score of 54.9 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.
Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Crawley Borough Council has a Mycelium Score of 2.5 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.
Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Crawley Borough Council disclosed 45,498 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 2.5 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.
Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.