Direct emissions
125,044
tCO2e
Explore carbon emissions data for Gibson Energy Inc. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.
This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Gibson Energy Inc., including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.
Total yearly emissions across all scopes
2,115,256 tCO2e (Market Based) (Mycelium adjusted)
Gibson Energy Inc. reported 89% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 11% for the categories it did not disclose.
Scope 1
tCO2e
125,044
Scope 2 (Market Based)
tCO2e
46,852
Scope 3 total
tCO2e
1,943,360
Checked against page 23 of the source report on 3 Oct 2026
The GHG Protocol splits Scope 3 into 15 categories. Ticked categories are the ones this disclosure reports; the rest are either not applicable or estimated by Mycelium.
Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset
See the scope breakdownScope 2 in these factors uses the company's market based figure.
Comparing companies? Use Total Modelled. It is the most complete like-for-like view: any categories the company has not disclosed are filled with industry-typical estimates, so a transparent company is not unfairly penalised against one that simply has not reported.
Estimating your own supply-chain emissions from spend with this company? Use Upstream Modelled. The GHG Protocol defines purchased-goods emissions as cradle-to-gate, which means this company's own operations plus its upstream supply chain. The Total figure also includes downstream emissions, such as the lifetime use of the products this company sells, which the GHG Protocol attributes to the users of those products rather than to customers buying goods and services.
Reported counts only emissions the company has filed itself. A blank or low Reported cell does not mean those emissions do not exist, just that the company has not disclosed them. When Reported sits close to Modelled, that is a positive signal: the company has disclosed most of its salient emissions.
Based on reported data, retrieved with AI
According to available emissions disclosures, Gibson Energy Inc. reported total yearly emissions of 1,875,074 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 92% of the footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.
The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 7.8, placing it strongly within its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 88.6, meaning they share solid detail across the main emissions areas.
Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.
Direct emissions
125,044
tCO2eIndirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.
Location based
52,951
tCO2eMarket based USED IN TOTAL
46,852
tCO2eWider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.
Cat 1
Purchased goods & services
434,848
tCO2eCat 2
Capital goods
648
tCO2eCat 3
Fuel & energy related activities
8,967
tCO2eCat 4
Upstream transportation & distribution
620,875
tCO2eCat 5
Waste generated in operations
313
tCO2eCat 6
Business travel
460
tCO2eCat 7
Employee commuting
2,603
tCO2eCat 8
Upstream leased assets
872
tCO2eCat 9
Downstream transportation & distribution
568,842
tCO2eCat 10
Processing of sold products
8,750
tCO2eCat 11
Use of sold products
56,000
tCO2eCat 12
End-of-life treatment of sold products
25,498
tCO2eCat 13
Downstream leased assets
41,997
tCO2eCat 14
Franchises
11,799
tCO2eCat 15
Investments
160,888
tCO2e4 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed and could not be modelled.
Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing Gibson Energy Inc.'s emissions data.
Independently assured (reasonable assurance) by Brightspot Climate for 2024
Jump straight into the sectors users explore most, or view all industries.
The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs sector peers (emissions normalised against revenue), scaled by how transparent the reporting is. The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0), capped at 10.
A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Gibson Energy Inc.'s score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel.
The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Companies with nothing to model are graded on how much of their industry's typical footprint the reported categories cover.
For Gibson Energy Inc., the single biggest gap is Investments (Scope 3 Category 15). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 8% of the company's total footprint, typically the largest source of emissions for a Transportation Services company, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.
In total, roughly 8% of Gibson Energy Inc.'s estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.
In its 2024 reporting year, Gibson Energy Inc. disclosed total emissions of 1,875,074 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 2,115,256 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share, around 92% of the total.
For 2024, Gibson Energy Inc.'s available disclosure covers Scope 1 (125,044 tCO2e), Scope 2 (46,852 tCO2e), Scope 3 across 11 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.
Gibson Energy Inc. has a Mycelium transparency score of 88.6 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.
Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Gibson Energy Inc. has a Mycelium Score of 7.8 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.
Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Gibson Energy Inc. disclosed 1,875,074 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 7.8 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.
Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.