Direct emissions
171
tCO2e
Explore carbon emissions data for Nel. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.
This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Nel, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.
Total yearly emissions across all scopes
89,246 tCO2e (Market Based) (Mycelium adjusted)
Nel reported 35% of the adjusted total. Mycelium estimated the remaining 65% for the categories it did not disclose.
Scope 1
tCO2e
171
Scope 2 (Market Based)
tCO2e
8,002
Scope 3 total
tCO2e
81,073
Checked against pages 39, 67 and 82 of the source report on 22 Sep 2026
The GHG Protocol splits Scope 3 into 15 categories. Ticked categories are the ones this disclosure reports; the rest are either not applicable or estimated by Mycelium.
Something wrong? Contribute to this dataset
See the scope breakdownReview the sources and documents behind Nel's emissions data. Provenance matters because it shows where the information comes from, how recent it is and how complete the disclosure appears to be.
Scope 2 in these factors uses the company's market based figure.
Comparing companies? Use Total Modelled. It is the most complete like-for-like view: any categories the company has not disclosed are filled with industry-typical estimates, so a transparent company is not unfairly penalised against one that simply has not reported.
Estimating your own supply-chain emissions from spend with this company? Use Upstream Modelled. The GHG Protocol defines purchased-goods emissions as cradle-to-gate, which means this company's own operations plus its upstream supply chain. The Total figure also includes downstream emissions, such as the lifetime use of the products this company sells, which the GHG Protocol attributes to the users of those products rather than to customers buying goods and services.
Reported counts only emissions the company has filed itself. A blank or low Reported cell does not mean those emissions do not exist, just that the company has not disclosed them. When Reported sits close to Modelled, that is a positive signal: the company has disclosed most of its salient emissions.
Based on reported data, retrieved with AI
According to available emissions disclosures, Nel reported total yearly emissions of 31,432 tCO₂e in 2024. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 91% of the footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.
The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 1.0, placing it well below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 21.7, pointing to very little public detail on their key emissions.
Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.
Direct emissions
171
tCO2eIndirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.
Location based
938
tCO2eMarket based USED IN TOTAL
8,002
tCO2eWider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.
Cat 1
Purchased goods & services
50,501
tCO2eCat 2
Capital goods
9,896
tCO2eCat 3
Fuel & energy related activities
2,834
tCO2eCat 4
Upstream transportation & distribution
5,046
tCO2eCat 5
Waste generated in operations
1,039
tCO2eCat 6
Business travel
1,434
tCO2eCat 7
Employee commuting
1,431
tCO2eCat 8
Upstream leased assets
117
tCO2eCat 9
Downstream transportation & distribution
2,719
tCO2eCat 10
Processing of sold products
831
tCO2eCat 11
Use of sold products
0
tCO2eCat 12
End-of-life treatment of sold products
3,071
tCO2eCat 13
Downstream leased assets
892
tCO2eCat 14
Franchises
73
tCO2eCat 15
Investments
1,189
tCO2e13 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. A cell marked “ESTIMATED” is a figure the company did not disclose, modelled by Mycelium. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed and could not be modelled.
Independent third parties involved in checking or preparing Nel's emissions data.
Independently assured by Ernst & Young AS for 2024
Jump straight into the sectors users explore most, or view all industries.
The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs sector peers (emissions normalised against revenue), scaled by how transparent the reporting is. The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0), capped at 10.
A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Nel's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel.
The Transparency Score is the share of a company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Where a category is missing, Mycelium models what it would hold for a company of that size and industry and counts it as undisclosed, so an unreported category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one. A Scope 3 total filed without a category breakdown earns very little credit for the part left unattributed, because it does not show which categories are inside it: a company can count business travel, leave purchased goods out entirely, and the total looks the same. Companies with nothing to model are graded on how much of their industry's typical footprint the reported categories cover.
For Nel, the single biggest gap is Purchased goods & services (Scope 3 Category 1). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 57% of the company's total footprint, typically the largest source of emissions for a Manufacturing company, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.
Other material categories Nel hasn't disclosed:
In total, roughly 72% of Nel's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.
In its 2024 reporting year, Nel disclosed total emissions of 31,432 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 89,246 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share, around 91% of the total.
For 2024, Nel's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (171 tCO2e), Scope 2 (8,002 tCO2e), Scope 3 across 2 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.
Nel has a Mycelium transparency score of 21.7 out of 100. The score is the share of the company's estimated footprint that it reported itself, so an undisclosed category where most of its emissions sit weighs far more than a minor one.
Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Nel has a Mycelium Score of 1 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.
Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Nel disclosed 31,432 tCO2e for 2024, and its Mycelium Score of 1 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.
Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.