Direct emissions
430,000
tCO2e
Explore carbon emissions data for Unilever PLC. Mycelium helps you review reported emissions, disclosure status, Scope 1, Scope 2 and Scope 3 data, climate targets and sustainability information in one company profile.
This profile brings together available carbon emissions data for Unilever PLC, including reported figures, modelled estimates, disclosure documents and sustainability indicators, so you can review its emissions and compare its performance against similar companies. It is one entry in the Mycelium emissions database. Read how we source and check this data.
Total yearly emissions across all scopes
54,638,520 tCO2e (Market Based) (Mycelium adjusted) Company reported: 45,580,000 tCO₂e. The adjusted total includes Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories.
Scope 1
tCO2e
430,000
Scope 2 (Market Based)
tCO2e
60,000
Scope 3 total
tCO2e
54,148,520
Scope 2 in these factors uses the company's market based figure.
Comparing companies? Use Total Modelled. It is the most complete like-for-like view: any categories the company has not disclosed are filled with industry-typical estimates, so a transparent company is not unfairly penalised against one that simply has not reported.
Estimating your own supply-chain emissions from spend with this company? Use Upstream Modelled. The GHG Protocol defines purchased-goods emissions as cradle-to-gate, which means this company's own operations plus its upstream supply chain. The Total figure also includes downstream emissions, such as the lifetime use of the products this company sells, which the GHG Protocol attributes to the users of those products rather than to customers buying goods and services.
Reported counts only emissions the company has filed itself. A blank or low Reported cell does not mean those emissions do not exist, just that the company has not disclosed them. When Reported sits close to Modelled, that is a positive signal: the company has disclosed most of its salient emissions.
Based on reported data, retrieved with AI
According to available emissions disclosures, Unilever PLC reported total yearly emissions of 45,580,000 tCO₂e in 2025. Including Mycelium's estimates for categories the company did not disclose, the adjusted total is 54,638,520 tCO₂e. Scope 3 emissions accounted for 99% of the footprint, indicating supply chain activity, purchased goods and services, business travel, and wider operational dependencies were the most significant contributors to the company's carbon footprint.
The company achieved a Mycelium Score of 3.1, placing it below average for its sector for sustainability performance, and received a transparency score of 83.4, meaning they share solid detail across the main emissions areas.
Total Emissions across all scopes
54,638,520 tCO2e (Market Based) (Mycelium adjusted) Company reported: 45,580,000 tCO₂e. The adjusted total includes Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories.
Direct emissions from sources the company owns or controls, such as fuel use, facilities and vehicles.
Direct emissions
430,000
tCO2eIndirect emissions from purchased energy, including electricity, heating and cooling.
Location based
820,000
tCO2eMarket based USED IN TOTAL
60,000
tCO2eWider value chain emissions across the 15 GHG Protocol categories, from purchased goods and business travel to investments, where reported.
Cat 1
Purchased goods & services
37,910,000
tCO2eCat 2
Capital goods
1,269,253
tCO2eCat 3
Fuel & energy related activities
863,835
tCO2eCat 4
Upstream transportation & distribution
1,870,000
tCO2eCat 5
Waste generated in operations
643,095
tCO2eCat 6
Business travel
949,617
tCO2eCat 7
Employee commuting
947,432
tCO2eCat 8
Upstream leased assets
381,377
tCO2eCat 9
Downstream transportation & distribution
1,452,838
tCO2eCat 10
Processing of sold products
361,707
tCO2eCat 11
Use of sold products
1,580,000
tCO2eCat 12
End-of-life treatment of sold products
3,730,000
tCO2eCat 13
Downstream leased assets
474,262
tCO2eCat 14
Franchises
713,579
tCO2eCat 15
Investments
1,001,524
tCO2e11 values were derived via Mycelium's normalisation process rather than reported by the company. Cells marked “–” were not disclosed.
Near-term target
Targets set (1.5°C), target year 2030
Net zero
Commitment removed
Source: Science Based Targets initiative, Companies Taking Action.
Schemes and standards Unilever PLC has joined to disclose, cut and verify its emissions.
Website
www.unilever.comAddress
Port Sunlight
Wirral
Merseyside
Wirral
Merseyside
CH62 4ZD
Country
United Kingdom
Phone
+44 20 7572 1202Jump straight into the sectors users explore most, or view all industries.
The Mycelium Score is out of 10. Up to 6.5 points reflect carbon intensity vs sector peers (emissions normalised against revenue), scaled by how transparent the reporting is. The band above 6.5 is earned through verified data quality on a claimed profile: declaring every reporting category yourself (up to 2.0), preparation by a carbon accountant (2.0) and independently audited figures (2.0), capped at 10.
A higher score means lower carbon intensity than sector peers, backed by data that's third-party verified, claimed by the company, and fully disclosed. Unilever PLC's score sits at the top of this page and in the score panel.
The Transparency Score measures how much of a company's key emissions data is publicly disclosed, graded from A (very high) down to F (very low). Crucially, it weights each gap by how material that bucket is for the company's industry, so an undisclosed category where the bulk of emissions sit hurts far more than a minor one.
For Unilever PLC, the single biggest gap is Downstream transportation & distribution (Scope 3 Category 9). Mycelium estimates it accounts for around 3% of the company's total footprint, typically the largest source of emissions for a Food, Beverage, & Tobacco company, yet it hasn't been disclosed. Leaving a bucket this large unreported is what's holding the transparency score down.
In total, roughly 3% of Unilever PLC's estimated emissions sit in categories it hasn't reported. Disclosing these would be the fastest way to raise the transparency score.
In its 2025 reporting year, Unilever PLC disclosed total emissions of 45,580,000 tCO2e across all scopes. Including Mycelium estimates for undisclosed categories, the adjusted total is 54,638,520 tCO2e. Scope 3 accounted for the largest share, around 99% of the total.
For 2025, Unilever PLC's available disclosure covers Scope 1 (430,000 tCO2e), Scope 2 (60,000 tCO2e), Scope 3 across 4 of the 15 GHG Protocol categories. Figures not reported by the company are shown as modelled estimates and labelled as such.
Unilever PLC has a Mycelium transparency score of 83.4 out of 100. The score weights each emissions category by how material it is for the company's industry, so it reflects whether the disclosures that matter most have been made.
Mycelium measures sustainability through carbon emissions data rather than giving a yes or no verdict. Unilever PLC has a Mycelium Score of 3.1 out of 10, which reflects its emissions intensity against sector peers together with how transparent and well-verified its reporting is. The emissions figures, disclosure documents and climate targets on this page give the fuller picture.
Carbon emissions are one measurable part of environmental impact, and the part Mycelium tracks. Unilever PLC disclosed 45,580,000 tCO2e for 2025, and its Mycelium Score of 3.1 out of 10 shows how that performance compares with similar companies in its sector.
Learn more about our methodology and where this data comes from.